Banana Bread Oatmeal!

This morning, I was really craving banana bread for some reason. It was really random – I don’t usually crave baked goods in the morning but I suppose today was just one of those days. And of course, I wasn’t going to make banana bread before I left for work – I had about 20 minutes for breakfast today! So, I decided to try to recreate the “essence” of banana bread using one of my morning breakfast staples: oatmeal.

I have to say, it turned out to be AMAZING. It totally tasted just like banana bread! And it was the perfect way to start off my morning.

The Ingredients

The ingredients here are pretty simple:

  • 1/2 cup Whole rolled oats (although I like to use the multi grain oats from Trader Joe’s because it has oats, barley, rye and wheat – and has a great nutty flavor!)
  • 1/2 banana sliced
  • 4-5 walnuts chopped
  • Unsweetened almond breeze (use up to 1 cup)
  • Organic soy milk (use up to 1/3 cup)
  • Ground cinnamon
  • Stevia

Directions

Cook the oats according to package directions (I cooked mine in the microwave with 1 & 1/4 cup water). The thing I love about the multi-grain oats is that they cook just like regular oatmeal but have a nice variety of grains.

Top with bananas, walnuts, cinnamon and stevia and stir to combine

Pour the almond milk & soy milk over the oats until they have reached the consistency you want (for thicker oats, use less milk)

Stir to combine. Breakfast is served!


10 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

10 responses to “Banana Bread Oatmeal!

  1. This sounds amazing!! Perfect way to start your morning out right!

  2. I love my oatmeal every morning, and this is a great way to make it even more fun!

  3. You can never get bored of oats 😀

  4. I love nuts and fruit combinations in hot breakfast cereals, and this one sounds really kid friendly too.

  5. I’m pretty sure I’ll make my daughter’s whole day when I make this for her in the morning. She is an oatmeal junkie and adding bananas will just send her right over. Great recipe, I love your innovation!

  6. Oh my… with the milk over top? It looks soooo good! The perfect combination of toppings makes or breaks oatmeal for me. You’ve done a fantastic job. mmm

  7. This really sounds like it would be awesome for breakfast (and honestly, I rarely want anything for breakfast). Waking up to this would be a delight.

  8. This sounds really good! I could eat oatmeal for breakfast every day.:)

  9. That is one of my favorite breakfasts! Yum!

  10. This is my kinda oatmeal! 🙂

Leave a comment