The Perfect Bowl of Oatmeal :)

I can sometimes be a creature of habit. When I was growing up, I pretty much had the same things for breakfast and lunch for like 15 YEARS. How crazy is that? It was always oatmeal in the morning and some sort of sandwich for lunch (usually PB&J!).

These days, I do like to mix it up a bit more – but I still LOVE my oatmeal πŸ™‚ And honestly, I think sometimes oatmeal gets a bad rap for being boring, or tasting bland or whatever – but the key is to just dress it up with your favorite fruits, nuts, granola, milk, etc – and it ends up being an amazing and wholesome meal! So here’s my take on the PERFECT bowl of oatmeal!

So first, of course – you need the Oats… There are tons of options out there for Oatmeal – there’s the instant kind, the Quaker (e.g. filled with sugar) kind, there’s the slow cooking kind, the multi-grain kind, etc. I really like to get the whole grain / multi-grain variety that has oats, wheat, rye and barley with no sugar added.

I just love the way it looks in the bowl πŸ™‚ Oatmeal is a nutritional powerhouse – with tons of soluble fiber & antioxidants. This variety is super hearty, filling, has only 130 calories per serving and 5g of fiber & protein each!

This version is also really easy to make – you just add 1 cup of water to 1/2 cup of oatmeal, microwave it for about 3-4 min and it turns out like this!

I just love how the oats get all fluffy and warm once they’re cooked! Now for the mix-ins – here are some of my favorites. First up – Blueberries!

Frozen blueberries are great because 1) They’re fresh year-round 2) They become all melty and warm in the oatmeal and 3) They never go bad! You can see them already defrosting just minutes after I put them on the oatmeal…

With a wonderful sweetness, antioxidants and fiber – you really can’t go wrong with this superfood! Once the blueberries are mixed in, I love adding in walnuts (another super food with omega 3s!)

Now – oatmeal has to be creamy and flavorful, and slightly sweet. The final three mix-ins are: Honey (yum!), Almond Milk (I like unsweetened almond breeze – see pic below), and Cinnamon (this adds a wonderful nutty flavor and goes soo well with the honey!)

Stir it all together, and your perfect bowl of oatmeal is complete! When it’s all done, it adds up to about 250-300 calories – the perfect breakfast!

Tada! We are ready to eat! I love how the oatmeal turns a bluish color as the blueberries melt into it πŸ™‚ I totally had this for breakfast today.. and yesterday… and the day before … haha – looks like I’m still a creature of habit! What does your perfect bowl of oatmeal look like? I’d love to hear from you!

18 Comments

Filed under Picky Cooks (Favorite Recipes)

18 responses to “The Perfect Bowl of Oatmeal :)

  1. Nice perfect breakfast! I’m trying to eat more oatmeal, so thank you!

  2. I’m such a creature of habit too. I could eat this every morning no problem…your add-ins are great πŸ™‚

  3. Nicely done!!! Never thought of the frozen blueberries… brilliant idea!

  4. I love oatmeal too! I used to eat it every day before school. My favorite mix in was always a little spoonful of peanut butter.

  5. That sounds delicious! I’ve seen so many delicious oatmeal recipes popping up – I may have to break out of my plain rolled oats habit!

    It was lovely meeting you this weekend!

  6. I make oatmeal for my kids almost every morning when the weather is cooler. Blueberries and nuts are a great addition.

  7. healthy AND delicious – nice combination of toppings!
    LL

  8. I eat this every day, and have been meaning to blog it! Perfectly said, will share! Thank you!

  9. Pingback: Perfect Bowl of Oatmeal done fast! « The Good Stuff 411

  10. Lovely meeting you at Foodbuzz and hope you enjoyed our foodie gifts! So funny that you posted about basically my exact daily breakfast (my version: TJ’s oatmeal + TJ organic blueberries + TJ Vanilla Soy milk + TJ crunchy PB).

    • anjalim

      haha! that is awesome. I really have to try this PB in oatmeal thing – you’re the second person who has mentioned it to me! I loved the foodie gifts btw – the dark chocolate was to die for! Thanks again and definitely stay in touch πŸ™‚

  11. I’m a creature of habit with my meals too! Love oatmeal, I don’t know why I never put frozen berries in it though. Looks so good.

  12. lgm

    sounds delicious! i am trying to count my calories in addition to eating cleaner! can you tell me how much of everything you added to your oatmeal? thanks!

    • anjalim

      Absolutely! I used the following proportions: 1/2 cup of rolled oats/wheat/barley/rye – in the 4 grain mixture, 1.5 cups of water to cook it, about 1/2-3/4 cup of the almond milk, 1/2 cup of blueberries, and about 3 walnuts chopped. Hope that helps!

Leave a Reply

