Curried Chickpeas and Quinoa Flatbread!

A couple days ago, I decided to try a recipe I found on Fat Free Vegan Kitchen’s Blog. It looked absolutely delicious, and really easy to make. My husband was a bit skeptical but open to trying it – especially if we used his favorite Tandoori Naan Flatbread from Trader Joe’s (see picture below) as the base 🙂 I made a few modifications (see my notes in purple) to the recipe to amp up the flavor/spicy-ness – and it turned out great! My husband liked it so much he volunteered to finish the leftovers at another meal. This meal is also extremely healthy – really balanced with veggies, protein and whole grains. The Tandoori Naan Flatbread isn’t the “healthiest” base, but it’s ok (one of them will run you about 250 calories and 2g fiber). I actually tried using a whole wheat pita and a slice of toasted whole wheat bread as alternate bases and they turned out great too (and those are healthier/lower calorie options than the flatbread). But any way you make it, this is a great recipe! Hope you enjoy it!

Ingredients – Curried Chickpeas/Flatbread

  • 1 medium onion, chopped (I used a red onion)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced (I actually used about 4 cloves garlic for more flavor)
  • 1 tablespoon minced ginger (I think I used a little more than 1 Tbsp)
  • 1 15-ounce can chickpeas, rinsed and drained
  • 1 1/2 teaspoons good curry powder (or adjust to taste) (I ended up using closer to 1 Tbsp)
  • 1/4-1/2 teaspoon cayenne or other ground red pepper (or to taste) (I used 1/4 tsp and it gave it a good enough kick for my tastes!)
  • 1 15-ounce can diced tomatoes (fire-roasted preferred)
  • 1 cup cooked quinoa
  • salt to taste (Definitely don’t omit this step – this recipe needs salt added, otherwise it will taste bland!)
  • Whole wheat pita, or toasted whole wheat bread, or Naan Flatbread

Ingredients – Tomato “Salsa” & Other Toppings (I added this to give some more flavor dimensions to the meal)

  • 1 cup grape tomatoes, quartered/halved
  • Diced red onion
  • Diced red bell pepper
  • A few squirts of lemon juice
  • Pinch of salt
  • Mixed greens / baby romaine – chopped

Directions

  1. Cook quinoa according to package directions
  2. Heat a medium-sized, non-stick sauce pan over medium-high heat. Add the onions and a sprinkle of salt and cook, stirring, until onions soften. Add garlic and ginger and cook for another minute.
  3. Add the chickpeas, curry powder, and cayenne pepper, and stir briefly. Add the tomatoes and cooked quinoa, reduce heat to low, and cover. Simmer for about 10 minutes to allow flavors to blend (I simmered mine for longer – probably about 20 min total). Add salt to taste.
  4. Mix tomatoes, onions, red peppers, lemon juice and salt together.
  5. Make flatbreads: Top your pita/bread base with chopped romaine/baby greens, 1 serving of the chickpea / quinoa mixture, and the tomato salsa. Enjoy!

Pictures

Quick cooking quinoa from Trader Joe's

Trader Joe's Tandoori Naan Flatbread

Tomato salsa!

Chickpea Quinoa Mixture

My husband's flatbread

Flatbread part 2

My version on whole wheat toast!

15 Comments

Filed under Picky Cooks (Favorite Recipes)

15 responses to “Curried Chickpeas and Quinoa Flatbread!

  1. This really does look good! We are quinoa lovers and always trying to find a way to get more protein in the diet. I have to admit we LOVE that flatbread too!

  2. Always looking for good quinoa/chickpea recipes. How generous of your husband to “volunteer”

  3. Great idea. I just started eating quinoa but don’t know what to do with it as a main.

  4. This looks wonderful..The closest Trader Joe’s is nearly 200 miles away from me….boo hoo!

    • anjalim

      Oh my gosh! That is too bad… do you have a whole foods near you? They’re slightly more expensive but will have many similar products.

  5. Yum! This looks so good! The chickpeas and quinoa definitely won me over.

  6. That looks soo delicious! I can’t wait to try it. I have to sadly admit that I have not done very much cooking with chickpeas, so I am excited to try them out!

  7. Ohh yum this sounds delicious! Thanks for sharing this recipe 🙂

  8. KC

    I just found your blog and I love it! I’m about to make your falafel recipe for dinner tonight, can’t wait 😀 This recipe looks delicious too.

  9. Eating my leftovers for lunch right now! So good.

  10. This is a very interesting point of view. Your blog is refreshing, but I wish one could find more content, though. I am looking forward to reading more from you. Keep up the good work. thanks

    • anjalim

      Thank you! Look out for many more posts in the near future – I’ve been traveling a lot lately so haven’t had a chance, but I’m back now so will have a lot more time to blog! 🙂

  11. Michael

    Shut it down. This recipe is SO tasty. I just finished eating it for dinner and even without the naan it was fantastic! I had some of the Trader Joe’s red curry sauce leftover from your veggie/tofu stir fry recipe, so I used that instead of curry powder in this and WHOA. I can’t wait to eat it for lunch tomorrow!!

Leave a Reply

