My Top 10 Healthy Snacks

I often get asked what kinds of foods I eat in order to maintain my weight. A lot of those questions are about snacking – especially for those of us who have desk jobs and without-fail, get the “munchies” around 3 or 4pm! So I thought I’d put together a list of my top 10 healthy snacks – those that I eat on a regular basis that are filling, tasty but still healthy and low in calories. My general rule for snacking is I try to eat whole foods – so I stay away from most packaged goods if I can help it. But I am including a few of my favorite packaged goodies in the list below for those emergency situations! 🙂 Hope this is helpful to all of you!

Top 10 Healthy Snacks

1) FRUIT! Fruit is an awesome snack – and it’s available year round! Most fruits are high in fiber, sweet, tasty, and filling. In the Fall, I go for Fuji Apples, Grapes and Bosc Pears (but any Pear will do!). In the Winter, I go for Oranges (I love blood oranges), Apples, Tangerines, Bananas (but be careful – one banana can have up to 130 calories). Spring and Summer are awesome, because there are so many options! My favorites for Spring/Summer are: Apricots, Blueberries, Strawberries, Raspberries, Grapes, Watermelon, Cantaloupe, and Stone Fruits like Peaches, Plums, Nectarines, Pluots (which is a Plum/Apricot hybrid that is usually sweeter than a Plum).

2) Raw Veggies with Hummus (or other healthy ) Dip: Carrot sticks, celery sticks, Raw broccoli, etc are all good options. I like to eat them with 2-3 Tbsp Hummus. But you can also eat them with Laughing cow cheese, or fat free dressing (~25-35 calories per serving).

3) Non-Fat Yogurt with 1/4 cup Fiber One or All Bran Cereal: This is a great snack and very filling. The yogurt gives you lots of protein and the fiber one has (of course) fiber, and is only about 30 calories for 1/4 cup! I like Fage 0% Greek Yogurt – which is only 90 calories but packs over 10g protein! You can sweeten the yogurt with a bit of splenda or sugar free preserves, or honey (but don’t go overboard with the honey – 1 Tbsp has about 60 calories!). By the way – one trap a lot of people fall into is topping their yogurt with Granola. Granola (though it sounds healthy) is actually FULL of sugar and calories. 1/4 cup can have up to 100-150 calories!

4) Dark Chocolate Covered Almonds: Yeah, yeah, I know these are kind of a dessert. But dark chocolate (make sure you get the kind that’s like 70% cacao) is full of antioxidants, and almonds are full of fiber and protein! These also satisfy a sweet tooth really well 🙂 Just make sure you read the label and don’t take more than 100-150 calories (which is probably about 4-7 almonds depending on their size)

5) Nuts and Dried Fruit: The key here, is to make sure the nuts you buy are just that – nuts. The package should have one ingredient (maybe two if they roast the nuts with salt). My favorites are Almonds, Walnuts and Cashews. The same rule applies for dried fruit – there shouldn’t be any added sugars or oils on the packaging. I like raisins, dried blueberries and dried cranberries. The one trap people fall into with nuts and dried fruit is they take too much – and end up eating like 500 calories. 1/4 cup of almonds is about 150-170 calories (applicable for most nuts). So I’d aim for about 2 Tbsp nuts and 2 Tbsp dried fruits. That should be filling enough to hold you over until your next meal! 🙂

6) 100 Calorie Packs: So this is one of my packaged snacks on the list – 100 calorie packs! These are great because they are already portioned out – and it feels like you’re eating a lot when you get to finish the bag. The other great thing is – they come in like 1,000 different varieties now. They even have 100 calorie pack hostess cupcakes! So pick your favorite, and enjoy!

7) 1 Slice of Oroweat Double Fiber Bread (toasted) with 1 Garlic Laughing Cow Cheese Wedge: The great thing about this bread, is it has like 7g fiber and only 70 calories per slice! The Laughing cow cheese wedges are only 30 calories per wedge, and one is more than enough to spread over a slice of bread. I like to toast the bread so it’s crispy, and spread on the cheese while the bread is hot so the cheese gets nice and melty 🙂 100 calories and a great snack!

8 ) Pretzels, PopChips, All Bran Fiber Crackers (only take about 100 calories worth – for the Fiber Crackers, that’s about 10 of them): This is a good snack if you want something crispy, salty, but you don’t want to eat a bag of potato chips. By the way – PopChips taste a lot like potato chips but are much healthier! These are also all good packaged snack options when you’re on the run.

9) Tea and a 2/3 cup of Kashi Heart to Heart Cereal: When I’m sort of hungry, but not really hungry – I’ll usually make myself a nice cup of hot tea (black tea with cinnamon, cardamom, ginger, splenda, and 1/4 cup of nonfat milk is my favorite). If I want something to munch on, I’ll take a handful of Kashi Heart to Heart Cereal – and depending on how big a handful I take – that’ll end up being ~50 calories.

10) Protein Bars: My favorites are Clif Bars, Lara Bars, and Luna Bars. They all have > 4g fiber; about ~200 calories; and at least 5-6g protein. My favorite flavors for Clif are: Chocolate Peanut, Chocolate Brownie, White Chocolate Macadamia Nut, Oatmeal Raisin. My favorite Lara Bar flavors are Cashew Cookie and Peanut Butter Cookie. My favorite Luna Bar Flavors are Nutz over Chocolate, S’mores, Caramel Nut Brownie.

23 Comments

Filed under Be A Picky Eater (Tips!), Picky Eats (Restaurants/Foods), Picky Tips (Healthy Living/Eating)

23 responses to “My Top 10 Healthy Snacks

  1. Great list! I am a big snacker. I love all of the things on your list but most of the time I am guilty of reaching for the bad stuff instead. I should get into the habit of snacking like you more often! Very good suggestions and very good post.

    • anjalim

      Thank you! You make a great point actually (it’s hard to reach for the good stuff). You’ve inspired me to do a follow up to this post – how to avoid reaching for the bad stuff and going for the good stuff! Stay tuned 🙂

  2. Useful information and good reminders

  3. Hummus is my favorite snack. I’m always happy to have some in the fridge. I also make popcorn when I want a quick snack.

    • anjalim

      Popcorn is a great snack! And if you make it without butter – it’s super healthy and low in calories. Good suggestion!

  4. Having good snacks around is key!

  5. Everyone who follows my blog knows man I need some healthy food…lol thank you very much for this

  6. 10 o’clock strikes every day and I need a snack- eating every three hours like an infant. I can always use more ideas for healthy snacks. I had most but not all of these in my repertoire!

  7. Pingback: Healthy Snacks Part 2: How to avoid reaching for the junk food! « The Picky Eater: A Healthy Food Blog

  8. I made a cup of tea. While waiting for it to cool, I ate a girl scout cookie. This is a problematic.

    • anjalim

      haha! that is somewhat problematic 🙂 although one girl scout cookie is probably only 30-50 calories max – so not toooo bad 🙂

  9. Snacks are wonderful and I eat a lot of what you have on your list. I’ll add roasted, unsalted almonds with drops of honey to your list. It’s quick, easy and very tasty.

  10. I was lovin’ your list until I hit #10 – the protein bars. I am a fan of Lara Bars – they generally contain only 3 ingredients (maybe 4, depending on the flavor) and are made from real, whole food. I despise Clif Bars, because they have about 20 grams of added sugar (that’s 5 teaspoons & half your recommended amount of added sugar for the day) and trademarked ingredients that are made from various tortured soy products. A perfect example of total junk masquerading as healthy food. Comparing Lara Bars and Clif Bars is like comparing apples and candy apples. As a nutritionist, I once called Clif Bars “Snickers with a Flinstone Vitamin Stuck In It”.
    I think your top 5 Snacks are perfect – protein combined with a complex carb and a healthy fat…that’s great snacking!

    • anjalim

      You make a great point! The reason I included Clif Bars is because Lara Bars (while they are the healthiest and my favorite) are not available in a lot of supermarkets or convenience stores. You are totally right – Clif Bars have a lot of sugar and are definitely NOT a whole food! But they are lower in calories than most protein bars, are pretty filling and have a decent serving of fiber and protein. So that’s why they made the cut for me 🙂 What are your other favorite protein bars besides Lara Bars? I’m always looking for great healthy finds so definitely let me know if you have any additional suggestions! And thank you so much for the comment and feedback! Looking forward to more food discussions in the future 🙂

      • To be honest, I’m not a big fan of any type of “protein bar” – Lara Bars are the only ones I know of that are made from real food. I just don’t like the idea of them in general. They’re often too many calories to be considered a snack, but they’re not satisfying enough to be a meal…which can easily lead to overeating and weight gain. I think that eating on the run is a big problem in our food culture. Snacks should be simple and wholesome – like apple slices & almond butter or hummus & carrot sticks. Meals should be well thought out, relaxing and enjoyable.
        I understand that Life often gets in the way of making the best choices for our health, but with forethought and advance planning we can (hopefully) not find ourselves starving with no other options. One of the best things I did for my body was to stop eating in the car. Once your car is a “no food zone” it really cuts down on the poor choices and mindless munching.

      • anjalim

        I can understand that. And I totally agree with you about not eating on the run – I also make it a rule not to eat in the car – it definitely cuts down on mindless munching! One thing I recently learned was that Clif Bars and Luna Bars actually have a compound in them that’s not necessarily good for you – it’s called soy protein isolate. Most protein bars have that ingredient in them – and it’s not the best thing to eat because it is rich in estrogenic compounds! Since I learned that I actually cut out Clif and Luna Bars from my diet – I’m only eating Lara bars now. Thanks for raising these issues – I love learning new tips from fellow foodies!

  11. casualdish

    I always have the 100 calorie packs in my house for my girls. And I just bought my first bag of PopChips, omg delicious!!! Chips are my weakness so I am thrilled to have found these healthy ones!!! Yum!! Thanks for sharing all your finds!!

  12. Joe

    mmmm… This article makes me want to go food shopping right now. Going to have to bookmark this page for later!

    Also came across another page with a TON of healthy snacks. Its great for ideas before shopping: http://knowledge-nuggets.com/nutritious-and-delicious-snacks-the-huge-list/

  13. Nice selection of snacks! I like your blog too..

  14. Rachael

    Good list, i especially like the idea of the dark chocolate covered almonds… I must admit im a snack addict…. Any advice on a “healthy” or “healthier” alternative to choccy biscuits with a much needed cup of tea in the evenings ?!

  15. Yum! This is a handy list to think about whenever I am in the mood for a snack. Another great one is unbuttered natural popcorn, only 20 calories a cup and 50 calories for an entire bag! Thats hard to beat!

Leave a Reply

