Vegetarian “Dosas” with Curried Chickpeas and Mint Chutney!

Today I came across a recipe from The Healthy Green Kitchen and was inspired to try it out for myself. The original recipe actually has directions to make spelt dosas from scratch at home – which sounded awesome! But I didn’t have enough time to spend in the kitchen tonight, so I decided to modify the recipe and create Indian / Dosa inspired “tostadas”! They turned out GREAT. Super flavorful and really fun to eat! I’d highly suggest this recipe for anyone who wants a change from their normal dinner routine. The combination of the whole wheat “dosa” + chickpeas and veggies also make for a super healthful meal with tons of fiber and protein. My modified version and pictures are below, you can also find the original recipe here. Enjoy!

Ingredients

1) Indian Dosa Pancakes

Note: the dosa recipe from scratch is on The Healthy Green Kitchen’s website. Instead of making the recipe from scratch, I used Trader Joe’s Truly Handmade Whole Wheat Flour Tortillas. I sprayed them lightly with cooking spray, lined them up on a baking sheet, and put them under the broiler at 350 degrees for about 3-5 min on both sides to make them a nice, crispy base. They turned out great!

2) Curried Chickpea Filling

Ingredients

  • 5 cloves garlic, minced
  • 1 onion, peeled and finely diced (I used a red onion)
  • 1 carrot, peeled and finely diced
  • 1 green pepper, finely diced (I used a red pepper)
  • 2 medium hot banana chilies, minced (I didn’t have these so I used a “heaping” 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper instead to give it a nice kick)
  • 2 Tbsp cumin, ground
  • 1 Tbsp oregano
  • 1 Tbsp sea salt (coarse). NOTE: If you’re using regular salt, you should probably use about 1-2 tsp to taste — sea salt is less saltier than regular salt!
  • 1 Tbsp Turmeric
  • 4 cups cooked or canned chick peas (about 2, 160z cans)
  • ½ cup (4oz) tomato paste

Directions

  1. Heat a large saucepan over medium to low heat. Add the garlic, veggies, and spices, cooking until soft, stirring occasionally.
  2. Mash the chickpeas by hand, or in a food processor. Add the chickpeas and tomato paste to the saucepan, stirring until heated through. NOTE: I left mine a little chunky so you could still see some whole chickpeas in the filling

3) Coconut Curry Sauce

Ingredients

  • 1 onion, peeled and chopped (I used a red onion)
  • 2 cloves garlic, minced
  • ½ tsp cumin, ground
  • ¾ tsp sea salt (coarse) NOTE: About 3/4 tsp of regular salt is fine in this dish
  • 3 Tbsp curry powder
  • 3 Tbsp spelt flour (I didn’t put this in and it tasted fine)
  • 3 cups vegetable broth (I used 1.5 cups to make the sauce thicker, per the suggestion of The Healthy Green Kitchen)
  • 2 cups coconut milk (I used 1.25 cups, per the suggestion of The Healthy Green Kitchen)
  • 3 large tomatoes, diced

Directions

  1. Heat a saucepan over medium heat, add the onion and garlic, cooking for 5 minutes, or until soft.
  2. Add the spices, cooking for 1 minutes more. Add the flour and cook for 1 additional minute (Omit this step if you’re not using flour)
  3. Gradually stir in the vegetable broth to prevent lumps. Once the flour has been incorporated, add the coconut milk and tomatoes, stirring occasionally. Let it simmer for half an hour.

4) Fresh Mint Chutney

Ingredients

  • 2 cups packed fresh mint
  • 1/4 cup water
  • 1 shallot, peeled
  • Juice from 1 lime
  • 1 Tbsp organic sugar
  • 1 pinch sea salt

Directions

  1. Blend all ingredients in a food processor until you have a course puree. Taste and adjust seasonings, if necessary.

To ASSEMBLE: Take one of your “dosas” and top it with the curried chickpea mixture. Add the coconut curry sauce (as much as you like on top!), and top with 1-2 Tbsp of mint chutney (of course you can add more of this if you like as well!) Happy eating!

Coconut Curry Sauce

Mint Chutney

Curried Chickpea Mixture

Whole wheat "dosa" or "tostada"

Finished product, assembled and ready to eat!

Yum!

8 Comments

Filed under Picky Cooks (Favorite Recipes)

8 responses to “Vegetarian “Dosas” with Curried Chickpeas and Mint Chutney!

  1. YUM! What a classic dish – great recipe!

  2. Chickpeas, sauce, mint … this is all things lovely. Definitely trying all of it on my own.

  3. Very impressed…and very novel to use whole wheat tortillas as “dosas”

  4. Pingback: That Ashy Kitchen Aroma « Dirty Hands

  5. K

    The chutney turned out well! Thanks for the recipe! I had it with adai (similar to dosai) and coconut chutney. You can find those recipes in the blog entry below, along with some of my pitfalls:
    http://handsoap.wordpress.com/2010/07/18/coconut-chutney/

    • anjalim

      oh nice! I’m glad it turned out well 🙂 I’m going to try one of your recipes soon – so I’ll let you know how it goes!

  6. Michael

    Eating this dish is an excellent weight loss strategy for me…..it was delicious, but I used a “hot curry powder” and it was so spicy that I had to pace myself! Without the extra spice, I probably would have eaten 2 or 3 bowls in the time it took me to eat the 1. (I’m not fancy enough to have a 3-part meal, so I just combined the chickpea mixture and the sauce and let it all simmer together). Very tasty– thanks!!

Leave a Reply

