Super Healthy Kale Chips!

A couple of days ago, my dad sent me this recipe he found online for Kale Chips. Kale is one of those “powerhouse” foods that is always talked about, but isn’t a “staple” in our diets. This recipe makes it a lot easier to eat Kale on a regular basis! Below is the recipe, and some additional info about the health benefits of Kale 🙂 Enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 2 bunches of kale
  • 2 Tbsp olive oil (I’d start with one and add more if needed)
  • 3 garlic cloves minced (I love garlic so I’d probably add more here!)
  • Sea salt
  • 1 Tbsp toasted sesame seeds

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 375 degrees
  2. Rinse kale in a salad spinner
  3. Remove dark ribs and chop kale roughly
  4. Put leaves in a big bowl, toss with olive oil, garlic and salt
  5. Spread leaves on a one large rimmed baking sheet. Kale does not need to be in a single layer,as it will shrink in volume as it cooks.
  6. Bake for 15 to 20 minutes, stirring once or twice while it’s cooking, and until leaves are tender, crisp on edges and slightly browned
  7. Sprinkle with sesame seeds before serving

Health benefits of Kale

  • High in fiber
  • Excellent source of vitamin A, K, C and calcium
  • Low in calories
  • Cancer-fighting antioxidants
  • Aids in heart and cardiovascular health
  • Vitamin E rich leafy greens slow loss of mental function, prevent dementia
  • Protection against arthritis
  • And much more! Read more about kale here

Enjoy!

4 Comments

Filed under Picky Cooks (Favorite Recipes), Picky Tips (Healthy Living/Eating)

4 responses to “Super Healthy Kale Chips!

  1. Okay, I’m going to try this one more time. Mine came out kind of bitter tasting. I’ll see if I have more luck with your recipe. Everyone I know who has had these chips loves them, and I’m a big chip and cracker fiend. I’d love to find a healthy alternative.

  2. kimberbro

    Sounds interesting! I wonder if I can get my kids to try it? Love the blog! Looks great!

  3. Pingback: Kale Curry « Dirty Hands

Leave a Reply

