Tuscan Chickpea Soup

I found this recipe on myrecipes.com and it’s become one of my favorite meals to make! This soup is super tasty, warming and has a great mediterranean flavor. It also packs a nutritional punch with the fiber and protein from the chickpeas, and lycopene from the tomatoes. My slightly modified version of the recipe is below. Try it and enjoy!

Ingredients

  • 1-1.5 Tbsp  olive oil
  • 2  cups  finely chopped onion
  • 8  garlic cloves, minced
  • 4  cups  water
  • 1  teaspoon  minced fresh or 1/4 teaspoon dried rosemary
  • 3/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/4  teaspoon  black pepper
  • 3  (15 1/2-ounce) cans chickpeas (garbanzo beans), rinsed and drained
  • 1  (14 1/2-ounce) can diced tomatoes, undrained
  • 2 tablespoons balsamic vinegar
  • 6  tablespoons  (1 1/2 ounces) grated fresh Parmesan cheese

Directions

1. Heat the olive oil in a Dutch oven over medium heat. Add onion and garlic, and cook for 10 minutes, stirring frequently. Stir in the water and the next 5 ingredients (water through tomatoes), and bring to a boil. Reduce heat, and simmer 20 minutes.

2. Place 2 cups soup in a blender or food processor, and process until smooth. Pour the pureed soup into a bowl. Repeat procedure with 2 cups soup. (Note: the other alternative here is to use a hand blender – it works a lot more quickly and is a lot less messy!)

3. Return all pureed soup to pan. Stir in the vinegar, and bring to a boil. Remove from heat. Spoon 1 1/2 cups soup into each of 6 bowls; sprinkle each serving with 1 tablespoon cheese.

Pureed soup

Pureed soup

Yum!

Yum!

aaaaaaa

Nutritional Info

Makes 6 servings – per serving

Calories: 373 (22% from fat)

Protein: 15g

Fiber: 11.4g

6 Comments

Filed under Picky Cooks (Favorite Recipes)

6 responses to “Tuscan Chickpea Soup

  1. I saw this on foodbuzz the other day and made it last night! (With what I had on hand of course.. but still, delicious!) I’m blogging about it right now, and hope you don’t mind me linking to your blog, and recipe. 🙂

  2. I thought I commented, but I can’t tell if it went through.. so I’ll try it again. 🙂

    Love this recipe- tried it yesterday and blogged about it! I hope you don’t mind, I tagged your blog and recipe.

  3. Pingback: Grilled meatloaf? « Beek Eats!

  4. When I saw this recipe I knew it would be what I would make for dinner tonight! It combines two of my favourite ‘flavours’…I guess you would say ‘flavours’ – Chickpeas and Tuscan. My Tuscan Artichokes are one of my favourite recipes on my blog.

  5. Pingback: Comfort Foods for the Cold Weather! « L'Autre Choix Mini Marche

Leave a Reply

