Chickpea and Lentil Saute with Apples and Curry!

I found this recipe in the Vegetarian Times Cookbook, and I think you can also find it on their website here. My modified recipe is below – I just made a few minor modifications to the ingredients to make it a little more flavorful! Try it out and let me know what you think!

Ingredients 

1 cup uncooked lentinls
1 16 ounce can of chickpeas
1 small red onion (diced)
1 clove garlic (minced)
1.5 Tbsp oil
1 Tbsp curry powder
1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
4 tsp soy sauce
1/3 cup golden raisins
1 cup water
1 apple chopped
2 Tbsp chopped cilantro
Brown Rice
  • 1 cup uncooked lentils (I use the Trader Joes pre-steamed lentils – makes the prep time much quicker! I also use about 3/4 of the packet to increase the nutritional value of the dish! Picture of the steamed lentils is below)
Trader Joe's Lentils

Trader Joe's Lentils

  • 1 16 ounce can of chickpeas (Trader Joe’s has great organic chickpeas for a very reasonable price!)
  • 1 small red onion (diced)
  • 1 clove garlic (minced) (I actually use about 3 cloves to increase the flavor)
  • 1 Tbsp minced ginger
  • 1.5 Tbsp oil (I use 1 Tbsp, and I use olive oil – decreases the calories and 1 Tbsp is enough to capture the flavor!)
  • 1 Tbsp curry powder
  • 1/4 tsp cayenne pepper
  • 4 tsp soy sauce
  • 1/3 cup golden raisins
  • 1 cup water
  • 1 apple chopped (I use a Fuji Apple because it’s got a great sweet taste to it)
  • 2 Tbsp chopped cilantro (Optional, for garnish)
  • Brown Rice or Naan for serving (I use naan)

Directions

1. In a large saucepan: Cook the onion and garlic in the oil, stirring, over medium-high heat for 3 min

2. Add the curry, ginger, cayenne and cook 1 minute

3. Add the lentils and chickpeas and cook, stirring, 1 min more

4. Stir in the soy sauce, raisins and water and cook 15 min, stirring often

Right after step 4

5. Add the apple during last 3 min of cooking

With the apple added

With the apple added

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

6. Just before serving, sprinkle with cilantro

7. Serve with Naan or Rice

Finished Product!

Finished Product!

3 Comments

Filed under Picky Cooks (Favorite Recipes)

3 responses to “Chickpea and Lentil Saute with Apples and Curry!

  1. I’m looking for a lentil soup that I had at a restaurant near me. It did not have tomato in any form in the soup but it did have meat, some sort of small chunk sausage. I’ve looked everywhere for this but can’t find anything like it. Any ideas?
    Martha

  2. anjalim

    Hmm… well personally, I don’t have any recipes like that because I’m vegetarian 🙂 But – I did do a quick search on one of my favorite websites and it came up with a few options: http://search.myrecipes.com/search.html?Ntt=lentil%20and%20sausage

    Check it out – let me know if that’s helpful / close to what you were looking for!

Leave a Reply

