Yummy Healthy Quesadillas

So this weekend, I decided to try a new recipe for quesadillas. Poblano, Black Bean, Avocado and Mango Quesadillas. I was a little skeptical about this recipe at first – I mean who combines peppers, mangos and beans with cheese in a tortilla? The mangos were kind of freaking me out but I decided to be “daring” and try it anyway. The recipe seemed simple enough – but the one part about it was this thing about using a broiler. I had NO CLUE how to use a broiler! Or what it was really. But thanks to Google and the internet – I figured it out! The recipe is below – which I got from myrecipes.com! I also included my modifications and a picture from myrecipes.com (I didn’t take a pic of my actual final product but it looked really close to the one on the myrecipes website!). And I included notes on how to use a broiler 🙂

Poblano, Mango, Black Bean Quesadillas

4 servings (serving size: 1 quesadilla)

Ingredients

  • 1  teaspoon  olive oil
  • 1 1/2  cups  presliced onion (I used red onion)
  • 1/2  teaspoon  dried oregano
  • 1/4  teaspoon  salt
  • 1/8  teaspoon  black pepper
  • 1  poblano chile, seeded and chopped (I also added 1/2 a yellow bell pepper)
  • 1  (15-ounce) can black beans, rinsed and drained
  • 1  cup  jarred sliced peeled mango (such as Del Monte SunFresh) (I actually used one fresh mango and it turned out great!)
  • 1/3  cup  cubed peeled avocado
  • 4  (8-inch) fat-free flour tortillas (To boost the fiber count, I used “Mission Low Carb Soft Taco Size Flour Tortillas” – 110 calories per tortilla with 11g fiber per serving!)
  • Cooking spray
  • 1/2  cup  (2 ounces) shredded reduced-fat sharp cheddar cheese

Preparation

1. Preheat broiler. 

So this is how you use a broiler for those of you who are cooking-novices like me 🙂 Basically the broiler is part of most ovens. So what you do is you preheat your oven to 350 degrees, and then turn on your broiler (there should be a switch for high/low). Then when it’s time to bake the quesadillas, you put them on the top rack of the oven so they’re close to a broiler. And it works beautifully! Do you know what a broiler is? It’s just a grill turned upside down, so the grill heat comes from the top instead of the bottom. Cool huh??

2. Heat oil in a large nonstick skillet over medium-high heat. Add onion, oregano, salt, pepper, and poblano, and sauté 5 minutes or until onion is tender. Add beans; cook 1 minute or until thoroughly heated. Remove from heat; stir in mango and avocado.

3. Place flour tortillas on a baking sheet coated with cooking spray. Arrange about 3/4 cup bean mixture on half of each tortilla, leaving a 1/2-inch border. Sprinkle 2 tablespoons cheddar cheese over bean mixture, and fold tortilla in half. Lightly coat tortillas with cooking spray. Broil 3 minutes or until cheddar cheese melts.

Note: With my broiler on low and the temp at 350 degrees, it took about 10 min for the quesadillas to be nice and crispy. 

Nutritional Information

  • Calories: 334 (25% from fat)
  • Fat: 9.3g (sat 2.9g,mono 3.5g,poly 0.9g)
  • Protein: 13.2g
  • Carbohydrate: 54.5g
  • Fiber: 7.2g
  • Cholesterol: 10mg
  • Iron: 3mg
  • Sodium: 753mg
  • Calcium: 253mg

End Result

 

Yum!

Yum!

3 Comments

Filed under Picky Cooks (Favorite Recipes)

3 responses to “Yummy Healthy Quesadillas

  1. That looks delish, I love mango.

  2. Also love mangoes. They’re really awesome with black beans. Please forgive us as we’d be just forced to sprinkle a little cotija cheese on it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

